Databases

2-1-1 Long Island Database

Find information on health, education, social and human service agencies and programs on Long Island 24 hours a day-7 days a week.

Academic OneFile (NOVELNY)

This database contains journals and reference sources, many of which are peer-reviewed and full text. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.

Academic OneFile Select

Discover an essential set of scholarly journals and general interest titles supporting research across disciplines.

Adult Learning Center

Access a library of rich adult learning content (GED) and live, professional assistance in resume/cover letter writing, U.S. citizenship prep, MS Office Essential Skills Series, and more!

American Decades: 1900-1999

Cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999).

American Decades: 2000-2009

Covers everything from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the fascinating details of Americans' daily lives. Supports historical research in disciplines from the arts and business to law, medicine, technology and social trends.

Ancestry Library Edition

The most popular genealogy database in the world. A large collection of genealogy databases and census records that are searchable for your ancestors.

Auto Repair Source

Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, Auto Repair Source provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls and more.

Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)

Offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine.

BookBrowse

The very best books entertain, engage and enlighten. They wrap us in their world, giving us a window into the lives of others or a mirror to reflect on ourselves. These are the books you'll find. This database offers reviews, "beyond the book" articles, recommended reading for book clubs, read-alikes, books by themes, author interviews and more.

Books and Authors (Gale)

A reader’s advisory database that makes finding a great read much less challenging. With fun ways to browse, an intuitive design, read-alikes, reviews, award winners and themed book lists, and more this resource answers the age-old question, “What do I read next?”

Britannica Academic

Delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the venerable encyclopedia plus collegiate dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research—all from one resource. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts.

Britannica Escolar

Un excelente recurso digital en español que ayuda a enriquecer el aprendizaje de los estudiantes de primaria y secundaria.

Britannica School

Is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.

Business Insights: Essentials

Contains company histories, company profiles of both public and private companies, reports, articles from business magazines and newspapers, chronologies, rankings, and more.

Career Cruising

Learn more about yourself and careers that suit your interests. Search for careers and find out what they are really like. Find out where to get the education you need to start your career. Search jobs by zip code.

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database

Click on Registered Users - The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research and reference source that offers over MARC records and reviews of children's books, all full-text and searchable from review sources.

CollegeNow

Provides patrons with expert guidance and resources for college admissions. From 2-11PM (Monday-Thursday) patrons can meet a licensed school guidance counselor regarding college applications, admissions interviews, essay writing, and FAFSA help.

Computer Science/Gale

Discover a comprehensive collection of leading business and technical publications spanning the computer industry.

Consumer Reports

Presents articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers. Issues of the magazine. Full text back to 1991 and bibliographic records back to 1985.

Consumer Reports Buying Guide Search

All the articles in the latest annual car buying issue of Consumer Reports published in April of every year.

Consumer Reports Website

As a library user, you have full access to all of the valuable content on ConsumerReports.org through your library membership, including: 1,000+ Ratings, reviews, expert buying advice, product comparisons, consumer user reviews, and product video clips; Proven product reliability data; Complete product specifications; Frequently updated information; Quick recommendations; A ShopOnline feature; 100% unbiased...because we take no outside advertising.

Culinary Arts/Gale

Offers a smorgasbord of information—more than five million articles from more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as book reference content from Delmar such as About Wine, Introduction to Catering, Advanced Bread and Pastry, and Eat Fit Be Fit.

CultureGrams

To foster understanding and appreciation of the world's countries and peoples by creating and publishing concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content. The database is one of the most trusted and widely used cultural reference and curriculum products in the education, government, and non-profit arenas.

data axle reference solutions

Find and study businesses, locate people, conduct market research, find addresses and phone numbers...plus, much much more. New Jobs Module gives users the power to search by job type, keywords, geography, and estimated salary. Search results provide links to business records including company location, latest news, and key contact information. Categories include: US Business, US Residential, Canadian Business, Canadian Residential, Healthcare Providers, EmployersUSA, New Businesses, New Movers, New Homeowners, Lifestyles.

Educator’s Reference Complete/Gale

Discover a comprehensive collection of periodicals and reference content supporting the education field.

Elementary/Gale (NOVELNY)

Colorful, east-to-use interface invites students to explore. Kids InfoBits contains more than 100 full-text, kids magazines, more than 6,400 images, Merriam-Webster®’s Elementary Dictionary and 1,200 maps, flags & seals and over 1,700 colorful charts and graphs.

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

This dedicated Spanish-language database contains videos, compare-and-contrast features, selected articles, and a visual dictionary to allow ESL students and Spanish-learners the chance to learn. Integrated with World Book Kids for parallel English-language content.

Entrepreneurship/Gale

A comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. Experience an easy-to-browse interface mapped to four key stages—plan, fund, start, and manage—to fit your research needs at any point in your business's development.

ERIC

The premier education database, includes citations and abstracts from the major education journals with links to many articles and some full text documents.

Explora

Includes the following databases: ERIC, History Reference Center, Teacher Reference Center, MasterFile Elite, Literacy Reference Center, Student Reference Center, GrennFile, Topic Overviews for Public Libraries.

FamilySearch

South Country Library is an affiliate library of FamilySearch. There are only a few hundred affiliate libraries in the country. The designation means local library patrons will now have greater and more convenient access to the wealth of genealogical resources available through FamilySearch during their visit to here. You must register for a free account in order to view materials. The popular web service has over 6 billion searchable names and 2 billion images of historical genealogical records.

Fine Arts/Gale

Places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database includes over 500 journals, with more than 400 available in full text.

Flipster

Has popular and sought-after magazines available digitally for you to read. Includes titles such as People, O, Time, Sports Illustrated, Women’s Health, Men’s Health, and many more.

Fold3

Helps you find and share historic documents. We are able to bring you many never-before-seen historic documents through our unique partnerships with The National Archives, the Library of Congress and other institutions.

Gale Directory Library

Titles included: Brands and Their Companies (42nd ed., 2018), Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations(30th ed., 2018), Scholarships, Fellowships, and Loans (36th Ed., 2019)

Gale In Context/Middle School

Integrates content from magazines, newspapers, videos, and primary sources into an easy-to-navigate database developed with you in mind. Dive into science, social studies, history, literature, and more from National Geographic, Scholastic, NPR, NASA, and other sources.

Gale OneFile: High School Edition

Designed for middle- and high-school students and provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.
Features include full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources; careful editorial curation; a low-to-no embargo rate; and detailed manual indexing.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Titles included: VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever (2019), Business Plans Handbook (Vol. 41-43, 2018), Encyclopedia of Small Business (5th ed., 2017), The College Blue Book, Peterson's Four-Year Colleges (48th ed., 2017), Peterson's Private Secondary Schools (2017-2018), Peterson's Two-Year Colleges (48th ed., 2018) ...and more.

Gardening and Horticulture/Gale

Serves horticultural enthusiasts of all levels with more than 3.6 million articles from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles from Delmar, including Handbook of Flowers; Foliage and Creative Design; Computer Graphics for Landscape Architects; and more.

General OneFile (NOVELNY)

This general periodical database contains newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The back file extends nearly 30 years. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics and more.

Greenfile

Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Health and Medicine/Gale

This health database includes journals and magazines, many of which are full text. It contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.

Health and Wellness/Gale

Offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
What dietary habits are associated with developing adult-onset diabetes? Are antioxidants really effective? What new advances have been made in the treatment of HIV/ AIDS?

HelpNow

Got Homework? Get FREE help online from real tutors. One-to-one help from 2 PM to 11 PM, everyday! Includes K-12 Student Center, College Center, and Adult Education & Career Center.

HeritageQuest

Find Family History and Census information including U.S. federal census records from 1790-1930 plus searchable family histories.

History Reference Source

The database features full text reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. The database contains historical documents; biographies of historical figures; historical photos and maps; and historical video.

Home Improvement Reference Source

Focus is on home improvement and home repair. Thousands of repairs are available in the areas of outdoor projects, electrical projects, remodeling projects, plumbing projects, wood projects, decorating projects and maintenance. In addition to the repair information, other magazines and reference books focusing on home improvement are included.

Home Improvement/Gale

Puts the research of hobbyists and professionals alike on a solid foundation with more than 4.5 million articles from more than 200 home improvement-focused titles, covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others.

Hospitality and Tourism/Gale

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. The curious traveler will also find a wealth of information, from contents on state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.

Information Science/Gale

Library science students, information science and technology professionals, and others will value this database. It is updated daily with articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more.

Informe Académico

Descubra una coleccion completa de publicaciones asociadas con las disciplinas mas estudiadas en America Latina..

JobNow

Provides various tools to help with every step of the job search including live resume assistance, career planning, live career coaching, and live interview preparation.

JSTOR

Provides full-text access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Law Depot

Is the leading publisher of do-it-yourself legal documents and templates — with over 10 years experience. We have drafted over one million contracts and have helped our clients save half a billion dollars in legal fees.

Leadership and Management/Gale

Provides access to authoritative periodical content covering topics such as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics and leadership, adult learning and continuing education, and more. Updated daily, this library resource is useful for researchers or any professional interested in career development.

Legal Forms/Gale (NYS)

Offers a wide selection of essential New York state legal forms that may be customized for the most common legal procedures. These forms are used by attorneys and law firms. Includes real estate contracts, wills, premarital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant, and many others.
Many forms are ideal for supporting legal tasks relevant to business owners, such as filing for copyrights, patents and trademarks, articles of incorporation, licenses, and more.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Includes 241 journals with searchable cited references.

Literary Reference Source

It is a comprehensive database that combines information from books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. Contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.

Magazines A-Z

Searching for a specific magazine or journal article? Start here with this A to Z list.

MasterFile Elite

Magazines for everyone are in this database, which provides complete articles from magazines and reference books.

MEDLINE

An index to peer reviewed and scholarly journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences with some links to entire articles. Once you find the article you want, request it from the library.

Medline Plus

A free web site of health information from the National Library of Medicine for both health professionals and consumers.

MyHeritage

The leading destination to discover, share and preserve your family history.

New York Amsterdam News

Provides access to full articles (1922-1993) to one of the nation’s leading black newspapers of the 20th century and one of New York’s most influential black-owned institutions.

New York Times 1980-current

Complete articles from 1980 onward including the Book Review and Magazine sections.

New York Times Historical 1851-2015

The entire historical run of The New York Times from 1851-2015. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

News/Gale

Newsstand provides access to several major American newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. It also includes the New York State newspapers.

Newsday 1985-current

Complete articles from 1985 onward.

Newsday Historical 1940-1989

Complete articles from 1940 to 1989. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Novelist K-8 Plus

Your solution for integrating fiction across the curriculum: With its fun and intuitive interface, and extensive feature content, NoveList K-8 will be the resource you and your young readers turn to when looking for the next book to read.

Novelist Plus

Provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for fiction and non-fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction and non-fiction readers and information for school media specialists and teachers.

Nursing and Allied Health/Gale

Provide access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Opposing Viewpoints/Gale In Context

The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Passenger and Immigration Lists Index

This new digital format is an easily accessible and searchable resource for anyone who wants to trace their family history or learn more about immigration and genealogy—from immigrant arrivals in New York through Ellis Island to passenger lists for those entering New Orleans and more than 200 other ports.

Peterson’s Test and Career Prep/Gale

Provide an accessible solution that will help students and working adults accomplish their education and career goals. Is an online learning resource that offers a central hub for standardized test prep, college planning, career assessment, job searches, and more.
Test prep resources help users prepare for a variety of standardized exams, including college entry exams like the SAT and ACT, and vocational exams in industries like law enforcement, journeyman, cosmetology, and U.S. citizenship. Students can find college planning tools, including a school search and a scholarship search. Job seekers can take advantage of career exploration tools including career assessments, advice, help creating resumés and cover letters, and a job search engine. Plus, learners can find additional materials to brush up on foundational skills in math and science, reading and writing, and computer technology to support their future endeavors.

Physical Review Journals Archives from the American Physical Society (APS)

The archives of the journals of the American Physical Society (APS) journals back to 1893.

Physical Review Journals from the American Physical Society (APS)

Inside library access provided by the American Physical Society (APS) of the following journals: Physical Review Letters (PRL) (brief important papers, all topics in physics), Physical Review A (atomic, molecular, and optical physics), Physical Review B (condensed matter and materials physics), Physical Review C (nuclear physics), Physical Review D (particles, fields, gravitation and cosmology), Physical Review E (statistical, nonlinear, and soft matter physics), Physical Review X (open access articles, all topics of physics), Physical Review X Energy (open access articles, all topics of physics), Physical Review X Quantum (all topics of physics),
Physical Review Applied (applied physics), Physical Review Fluids (fluid dynamics), Physical Review Materials (multidisciplinary materials research), Physical Review Research (all topics of physics),Reviews of Modern Physics (in-depth articles, all topics in physics), Physical Review Accelerators and Beams, Physical Review Physics Education Research.

Pronunciator

Offering 80 languages and growing. Also has ESL for 50 non-English languages. Each language has a minimum of 1,500 phrases, and a maximum of 10,000. Offers the ability to learn any language in any other language — making for 4,000 possible course combinations!

Psychology/Gale

Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.

Religion and Philosophy/Gale

Discover a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily, this library resource supports a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues.

Science Online

Has science biographies, diagrams, essays, science experiments, and timelines.

Science Reference Source

A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content including: science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Science/Gale

From climate change to genetically modified organisms to fracking, the wealth of content in Gale In Context: Science spans the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology. Go beyond research projects and choose from over 350 experiments in 200 entries to assign during everyday instruction, enabling hands-on learning anywhere students have online access.

Something About the Author

Examine the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults.

Suffolk Historic Newspapers

A centralized, searchable collection of Suffolk's newspaper heritage available to you online. Now includes The Patchogue Advance from 1926 to 1948.

Teacher Reference Center

Magazine articles for teachers and librarians.

The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1857 - 1922.

U.S. History/Gale

Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.

US Newsstream/Proquest (NOVELNY)

Search all seven ProQuest newspaper databases simultaneously. Includes Newsday (current and historical), New York Times (historical), Wall Street Journal (historical), and a selection of national news sources including: The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, USA Today and more.

VetNow

Supports veterans and their families with navigating the VA bureaucracy, providing academic tutoring, and assisting with employment transition.

Vocations and Careers/Gale

Provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Wall Street Journal 1984-current

Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 is available from the world's leading financial newspaper through this database.

Wall Street Journal Historical 1889-2000

The entire run of the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2000 is available from the world's leading financial newspaper through this database.

War and Terrorism/Gale

Researchers accessing the more than 1.7 million articles in this database will gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.

World Book

Online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.

World Book Kids

Captivate even the most reluctant reader with unique visual engagements, rich multimedia content, and an abundance of educational games, activities, and projects. With thousands of articles, multimedia content, and a collection of biographies, World Book Kids is designed to encourage the young learner to be curious. The carefully curated content also supports STEM/STEAM instructional initiatives.

World Book Student

Student by World Book fascinates researchers with thousands of articles and multimedia aligned to curriculum. Contains numerous tools to engage users in 21st-century education and blended-learning practices. Student features responsive design, daily current events, assessment tools for educators, and dedicated resource guides to provide blueprints for advanced learning and college and career readiness.

World Book Timelines

Search more than 650 pre-generated timelines and 14,000 event in a highly interactive and customizable database. Investigate the chronological significance of world events and the lives of notable historical figures. Build, save, and share timeless for an authentic learning experience and integrate content easily from other World Book databases and outside sources.

World History/Gale

Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.