seagull logo

 

22 Station Road, Bellport, NY 11713, Phone (631) 286-0818, Fax (631) 286-4873

Home Catalog Adult Programs & Services Library Information Teens Children's Page

Homework

 

Elementary and Intermediate School: General

Searchasaurus

Dictionaries are in this databases , which also includes magazine articles.

 

GrolierOnline Kids

Encyclopedias can be found by searching in this database where you can look through four encyclopedias at once.

 

Encyclopedia of Animals

Includes kingdom, phylum, class, order, family, genus and species for each animal.

 

Elementary and Intermediate School: History

America the Beautiful

Includes state by state histories and current events.

 

Famous First Facts

Has notable American firsts.

 

Elementary and Intermediate School: Magazines

Primary Search

Has articles from popular magazines for elementary school research.

 

Searchasaurus

Has magazine articles plus dictionaries.

 

Elementary and Intermediate School: Literature

Novelist K-8

Discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles to use in your classroom. and recommended titles in Best Fiction. Many title records have direct links to Web sites with information about the author or with teacher resource materials.

 

 

Middle & High School: General

TopicSearch

Current Events are in this database, which has social, political, economic issues, and scientific discoveries.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles — eBooks — in virtually any subject area including health, medicine, science, art, history, business, biography and more.

 

GrolierOnline

Searches four encyclopedias, magazines and websites.

 

Opposing Viewpoints

Contains overviews and opinions pro and con from newspapers and magazines on over 100 social issues including animal experimentation, drug abuse, pollution, and stem cell research.

 

BookSource Nonfiction

A cross-curricular database, it provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for popular nonfiction books.

 

Learning Express

Includes practice exams and courses for students and adults designed to help them achieve their career and academic goals. Plus e-books and computer skills tutorial courses.

 

Middle & High School: History

U.S. History Collection

Access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles — eBooks — in virtually any subject area including history, biography and more. Covers the American Revolution, Civil War, Major Acts of Congress, Americans at War, and more.

 

Inside Library

 

 

 

Outside Library

 

 

 

U.S. History Resource Center

Has primary sources, dictionaries, chronologies, newspapers and magazines from pre-colonial times to the present.

 

World History Collection

Access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles — eBooks — in virtually any subject area including history, biography and more. Topics include: Fashion, Custume, and Culture, Judaica, History Behind the Headlines, Middle East, North Africa, and Europe.

 

Inside Library

 

 

 

 

Outside Library

 

 

 

 

World History Resource Center

Has timelines, primary documents, reference sources, and magazine articles and covers all time periods.

 

Famous First Facts

Has notable American firsts.

 

New York Times Historical

Includes the entire historical run of the New York Times from 1851-2003. Find out what happened on any date.

 

History Resource Center

A comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.

 

Middle & High School: Literature

Literature Resource Center

Includes information about authors and overviews of their works for high school students, undergraduate and graduate students.

 

Twayne’s Author Series

Has information about authors and their works for high school students.

 

LitFinder

Find complete poems, short stories, essays, plays and speeches, as well as explanations and biographies.

 

Magill on Literature Plus

Contains editorially reviewed critical essays, brief plot summaries, extended character profiles, and detailed setting discussions covering works by long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers.

 

Novelist

Provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers and information for school media specialists and teachers.

 

Novelist K-8

Discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles to use in your classroom. and recommended titles in Best Fiction. Many title records have direct links to Web sites with information about the author or with teacher resource materials.

 

Middle & High School: Magazines

Middle School Search Plus

Contains full text for a number of popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. Also available are biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets, primary source documents, reference books and an image collection of maps and flags. The database also includes a new collection of titles on each of the states, commonwealths and territories in the United States.

 

MasterFile Premiere

Provides complete articles from magazines and reference books.

 

Academic Search Premiere

Provides complete articles from scholarly journals/ magazines for the serious researcher.

 

InfoTrac Junior

Magazines for older students are in this database, which provides magazines for middle school and junior high school students.

Middle & High School: Math & Science

Science Reference Center

A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-specific content. Designed to support middle and high school curriculum.

 

Science Online

Has science biographies, diagrams, essays, science experiments, and timelines.