seagull logo

 

22 Station Road, Bellport, NY 11713, Phone (631) 286-0818, Fax (631) 286-4873

Home Catalog Adult Programs & Services Library Information Teens Children's Page

Health and Medicine

Consumer Information

Consumer Health Complete

The single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.

Health Source Consumer

Information on consumer health and medicine, food sciences and nutrition, child care, and sports medicine.

 

Medline Plus

A free web site of health information from the National Library of Medicine for both health professionals and consumers.

 

Teen Health and Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers

Provides students with comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Health Encyclopedias

Health Library

Includes the Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, Encyclopedia of Cancer, Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, Encyclopedia of Medicine, and the Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health. Titles can be searched individually or as a group.

 

Magazines

Health & Wellness Resource Center

Includes magazines, medical and professional peer reviewed journals, reference books, a medical encyclopedia and pamphlets. Includes extensive information on alternative medicine.

 

Scholarly Journals

Health Reference Center Academic

Includes current health information from magazines and peer reviewed journals, pamphlets and other reference sources including the current PDR Index.

 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Has magazine articles in psychology and psychiatry including peer reviewed and scholarly journals.

 

MEDLINE

An index to peer reviewed and scholarly journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences with some links to entire articles. Once you find the article you want, request it from the library.