seagull logo

 

22 Station Road, Bellport, NY 11713, Phone (631) 286-0818, Fax (631) 286-4873

Home Catalog Adult Programs & Services Library Information Teens Children's Page

Books and Literature

Authors and Their Works

Literature Resource Center

Includes information about authors and their works and is intended for high school students, as well as undergraduate and graduate students.


 

 

Twayne’s Author Series

Provides information about authors and their works for high school students.


 

 

Book Review Digest - Full Text 1983+

Complete reviews of books past and present for children and adults.

 

 

 

Book Index With Reviews

Helps you find information on the books you want and need to read.

 

 

 

Magill on Literature Plus

Contains editorially reviewed critical essays, brief plot summaries, extended character profiles, and detailed setting discussions covering works by long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers.

 

 

 

Novelist

Provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers and information for school media specialists and teachers.

 

 

 

Novelist K-8

Discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles to use in your classroom.

 

 

National Newspapers

Provides book reviews from the nation’s major newspapers.

 

Academic Search Premiere

Provides complete articles from scholarly journals/ magazines for the serious researcher.

 

 

Poems, Short Stories, Drama and Essays

LitFinder

Has complete poems, short stories, essays, plays and speeches, as well as explanations of them.

 

Contemporary Poets

Provides biographical and bibliographical information on 789 of the world's most important contemporary English-language poets.

 

------

 

Short Story Index 1984+

Has information on where to find short stories that have appeared in published books. Contact the library for the books.

 

Essay & General Literature Index 1985+

Has information on where to find essays on economics, political science, and history, and criticism of literary works, drama, and film. Contact the library for copies of the essays.

 

 

 

Non-Fiction Works

BookSource Nonfiction

A cross-curricular database, it provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for popular nonfiction books.

 

Credo Reference

Is a completely customizable general reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles — eBooks — in virtually any subject area including health, medicine, science, art, history, business, biography and more.

 

Inside Library

 

 

 

Outside Library